The B.E.S.T. in Concert

Historic Music in a Historic Venue


The Bach Ensemble of St. Thomas presents a concert of Baroque gems in the historic Sorg Opera House in Middletown, Ohio, on Friday, October 5 at 8:00 p.m. Proceeds from the concert will benefit the continuing restoration of the theatre.

Sorg Opera HouseArtists of the B.E.S.T., including soprano Alissa Ruth Suver, flutist Jennifer Parker, trumpeter Douglas Lindsay, and cellist Nathanial Chaitkin, will present a variety of pieces by the greatest names in baroque music. Music from Handel, Telemann, and the namesake of the Ensemble, J. S. Bach, will be presented in the Sorg, a building that has served as a cultural institution in Middletown for over 125 years.

“Just like the Sorg,” notes B.E.S.T. Artistic Director Carlton Monroe, “the mission of the Bach Ensemble is to preserve the great artistic treasures of the past, and make them relevant to audiences today.”

Alissa Ruth
Soprano Alissa Ruth Suver

The first half of the program will include a concerto for trumpet, flute, and oboe by G. P. Telemann, arias for soprano and violin soloists by G. F. Handel, and J. S. Bach’s Trio Sonata for flute, violin, bassoon and harpsichord. The second half will feature selections from Bach’s cello suites, and the musical fireworks of Bach’s Cantata No. 51 for soprano, trumpet, and strings.

“The music switches rapidly between fiery excitement to tender introspection,” says Monroe. “It’s a program that will appeal to someone new to this music, and to someone familiar with these composer.”

Tickets are available through the Sorg website: The Sorg Opera House is located at 63 South Main Street, Middletown, Ohio, 45044.

The Bach Ensemble of St. Thomas
Carlton Monroe, Artistic Director
Alissa Ruth Suver, soprano
Doug Lindsay, trumpet
Jennifer Parker, flute
Lon Bussell, oboe
Gerry Itzkoff, violin
Charles Morey, violin
Kevin Boden, viola
Nat Chaitkin, cello
Jim Lambert, contrabass
Jason Gunnell, harpsichord

Concerto for Trumpet and Two Oboes, TWV 53:D2 (G. P. Telemann)
Selections from Neun Deutsches Arien (G. F. Handel)
Trio Sonata from The Musical Offering, BWV 1079 (J. S. Bach)
Excerpts from Cello Suite TBA (J. S. Bach)
Jauchzet Gott in Alles Landen, BWV 51 (J. S. Bach)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: